Game of Thrones: Book vs Show S1E2

Season 1, Episode 2: The Kingsroad
First Aired: April 24, 2011
This is not a summary of the show and/or book but a comparison to see how the books were written verse how they are portrayed in the show.
I am using a guide to help determine which chapters to stop at for this blog as I don’t want to read too far ahead.  You can find the guide I am using at Chapter Guide.

Changes to the story:

  1. Jorah and Viserys talk about Jorah’s crimes and why Ned Stark would want him.  This part is in Eddard’s point of view in the book while speaking with the King out on a hunt.
  2. Cersei visits Catelyn and Bran while Bran is still unconscious.   She recounts how she lost her first born son, to the fever.  This scene does not take place in the book, at least not at this time.
  3. While Jon Snow is at the Blacksmith getting “Needle”, Arya’s sword, Jaime Lannister thanks Jon for joining the Night’s Watchmen very sarcastically giving Jon a first hand account of how the Lannister’s really are.
  4. We find out that Jon Snow is 17 in the show when Catelyn reminds Ned that is was 17 years ago that he rode off with Robert and came back with another woman’s child.  Now she is worried as he rides off again.  Jon is only 14 in the book.
  5. Ned and John part ways, Jon to the wall and Ned to King’s Landing. Jon asks about him mother and Ned promises to tell him about his mother the next time they meet.  Nothing like this has been said in the book but if you have watched the show before or read any of the books you know that this is one promise that is not kept.
  6. Rickon is 6 on the show while only being 3 in the book.
  7. Jon arrives at the wall.
  8. Catelyn visits the window/tower that Bran fell from.  She finds a blonde hair that leaves her to believe that it was the Lannister’s.  She then visits Bran and leaves a dreamcatcher of some sort.  None of this is in the book.
  9. Bran awakes when Lady, Sansa’s direwolf is killed.
Key scenes missing from the Show:
  1. While out of a hunt with the Ned, the King talks about Tywin Lannister killing Rhaegar Targaryen’s wife and children as a token of fealty.  This is also when Ned learns that Jaime has been given the role of new Warden of the West after the death of Jon Arryn.  The King is telling Ned that he indebted to the Lannister’s.
  2. On the journey to the wall, Tyrion Lannister recalls seeing the giant dragon skulls in the castle at King’s Landing after the Mad King was killed.  He recounts Aegon Targaryen and his sisters unleashed the three dragons 300 years ago when the kingdom were still separated to Jon Snow.  This battle was called Field of Fire and created the 7 kingdoms with a Targaryen King.
  3. Tyrion is bitten by Ghost, Jon Snow’s direwolf.
  4. Sansa meets Ser Barristan Selmy and Lord Renly (the King’s brother) both King’s Knights as well as Ser Iily Payne.
  5. Bran dreams of a three eyed crow.  It teaches him to fly instead of falling to the ground.  Once he learns to fly, he can see Jon on the wall, Sansa crying, the Dothraki and more.  The crow then pecks him in the forehead and Bran wakes up.
  6. Bran names him direwolf Summer.
  7. Daenerys thinks that life is so rough with Drogo that killing herself might be the only way out.  One night she dreams of dragons again but instead of seeing Viserys with the Dragons, she sees herself.  After that life gets easier.
  8. Viserys is mad that Daenerys has commanded him.  He yells at her and she in turn pushes him.  A Dothraki warrior cracks a whip around him neck to stop him from retaliating.  She then commands that he is stripped of his horse.  This in the eyes of the Dothraki is lowest of the low.  Daenerys now understands that he will never be King of the 7 kingdoms.
  9. Daenerys learns that she is with child.  This did not happen in this episode for will in future episodes.

There are other missing scenes but are not critical to the flow of the story.

This episode includes the chapters Tyrion I, Jon II, Eddard II, Tyrion II, Catelyn III, Sansa I, Eddard III, Bran III and Daenery III (Chapters 9,10, 12-17, 23) from the book Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin. Point of views have been swapped around in the timeline of the show.
Updates will be posted every Tuesday and Thursday.
Follow and never miss a post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s